A few thoughts after my first month of blogging

When I first became a writer on thefrostiesblog, my goal was to create an engaging, clearly written blog that used research and statistics to describe the problem of economic inequality and its link to health. I tried to first clearly establish the issue itself and then to focus on elements and examples of the problem that interested me. While I think that I have done a good job introducing readers to this issue, I strongly believe that I have only laid the foundation for understanding inequality and its effects on health.

It all starts with knowledge.

I can’t end poverty, and neither can you. This problem is very complicated and a single person can’t change the economic fates of thousands of Americans. However, what we can do is educate ourselves and others about the reality of economic inequality and advocate for politicians and policies that will help reduce patterns of poverty.

Economic inequality in North Carolina and the United States is not an issue that can be reduced to history, research, a single neighborhood, or a part of town. It is an active problem that is constantly changing and developing. Some of my recent posts have been challenging to write because poverty and inequality require complicated solutions that I can only begin to think about.

“Knowledge is of no value unless you put it into practice.” -Anton Chekhov

I encourage you to continue to be informed about levels of inequality in America and to be a force that thoughtfully fights for equality in your community, state, and country.

2 thoughts on “A few thoughts after my first month of blogging

  1. I really can relate to this post because as I have been blogging on my topic, I learned so many things that have allowed me to grow significantly. I think you did a good job addressing your goals and topics. I agree that you have done a good job introducing poverty and health. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

